online talks

Upcoming

29 November | 7am Quito/ New York | 12pm London | 1pm Brussels | 2pm Johannesburg | 5.30pm Delhi/Pune

Ashish Kothari will speak on  Eco-swaraj: Towards a Rainbow Revolution for Justice and Sustainability

Pathways out of the multiple global crises we are in have to be based on an integration of radical political and economic democracy, social justice, cultural and knowledge commons, and ecological wisdom. Many practical and conceptual alternatives of this kind already exist around the world. What can we learn from them, for a rainbow recovery from crises, and beyond ‘green new deals’?

Registration

Ashish Kothari is with Kalpavriksh, Pune, a 40-year old environmental action group in India. He helps coordinate the national Vikalp Sangam and the Global Tapestry of Alternatives processes, is on Greenpeace India’s Board, and has co-edited ‘Pluriverse: A Post-Development Dictionary’. More info: http://ashishkothari51.blogspot.in/


Previous

Joschka Köck (Theatre of the Oppressed, Vienna): On the Intersections of Activism, Theatre and Scholarship (Audio only)

Gurminder K. Bhambra (School of Global Studies, University of Sussex): “Undoing the Epistemic Disavowal of the Haitian Revolution: A Contribution to Global Social Thought”

Lata Narayanaswamy (University of Leeds) “Beyond the buzzwords: critical and ethical scholarship with a decolonial lens”

Sabelo J Ndlovu-Gatsheni (UNISA) “The Struggles of Epistemic Freedom and Decolonization of Knowledge in Africa” and the webinar slides.

Juan Fernando Larco Guevara (University of Freiburg, Germany): “Re-thinking emancipation in “Latin America” and the de-colonial project”

Vanessa Andreotti (University of British Columbia, Canada): Interdisciplinary Studies in Global/Planetary Interdependence: The mobilization of hope and rage in times of instability

Sayan Dey (Royal Thimphu College, Bhutan): “The Politics of ‘Post-’: Colonial detoxification and celebrating ‘in-betweenness’- The Anglo-Indians of Bow Barracks, Calcutta”

Epifania Amoo-Adare (Accra/Ghana): (Un-)Thinking, Decolonial Loving and Becoming- Critical Literacies for ‘Postnormal Times’

Rosalba Icaza (Institute of Social Studies, The Hague): Decolonial Feminism and Development

Aram Ziai (University of Kassel): Decolonising Development Policy

Ana Estefania Carballo (University of Melbourne): Buen Vivir, Degrowth and Human Development